29 September 2011

Romance Retreat: Only His by Susan Mallery

Book Review: Only His by Susan Mallery

Only His - Susan Mallery

Wedding bells are ringing in Fool’s Gold, but not for Nevada Hendrix. Her triplet sisters are engaged, and even her mother has a more active love life than she does. Determined to make a fresh start, she applies for her dream job, only to discover that her new boss is her first love. Maybe she could overlook the fact that they’ve seen each other naked, but she’ll never forget the way he broke her heart. Tucker Janack agrees to Nevada’s “business only” ground rules. After all, love is a trap that the construction millionaire has avoided his whole life. But when great business partners turn out to be so much more, every rule gets broken. Will either of them be willing to try again…or will their past get in the way?
HQN Books - Release Date: 27th September 2011

Why Did I read this book?
As I've already explained in my previous Romance Retreat post, I like to read at least one book a month in this genre and Susan Mallery is a favourite author of mine when it comes to contemporary romance.. Only HIs is the sixth book in her Fool's Gold series (the 3rd in the Hendrix triplets mini-series) so, naturally I had to pick it up.
I got this book through Netgalley

The Cover
As always with e-galley I've not seen the cover in IRL. I quite like it though. It looks summery and very serene and tranquil. It doesn't fit the story though, as Only His is more a wintery novel than a summery, and I don't think there's a lake in Fool's Gold.

My Thoughts
When you pick up a Susan Mallery novel you always get exactly what you expect. A charming setting, a sweet romance, some obstacles and a Happy Ever After. It's like a warm blanket and a cup of hot chocolate during Winter, or the sand under your feet and the ocean breeze on your skin in Summer. In other words, it's the perfect escape from dreary every day life.
Only His is the 6th Fool's Gold novel and features the third triplet sister Nevada and her first crush, now boss, Tucker Janack.Only His is not solely about Nevada and Tucker, but also about the town they live in.  It's awesome reading about Fool's Gold again, it's such a wonderful place and it comes alive within the pages. There are a few sidestories. For instance we get to follow Denise Hendrix, mother of the triplets, and her second chance at love, something that was set up nicely the earlier novels. We also get to see Jo falling in love, she who has been the constant throughout all six novels, owner of the bar and a shotgun, averse to love and men.
Only His is several things at once. It's a nice ending to the Only-miniseries, it's also a bit like a high-school reunion where you get to meet all the characters you liked in the earlier novels and see what they are up to know AND it's also setting up another three novels set in Fool's Gold, as we get to meet new(ish) characters like Annabelle, Charlie and Heidi.

Final Words
If you've enjoyed the previous novels set in Fool's Gold, you definitely shouldn't miss this one.

No comments :

Post a Comment